All beaches / Bayside

Can dogs go on Half Moon Bay?

Black Rock, Bayside City Council.

Checking today’s rule…

Checking the clock…

Get directions

Rules can change at short notice. Always check the signs at the beach and the council's page before you go.

The rules are written below.

Show on the map

Half Moon Bay is dog-free from 10am to 7:30pm in summer, and on leash from 7:30pm until sunrise. Council does not state the sunrise-to-10am rule in the indexed text.

Half Moon Bay sand

The status at the top of the page uses this stretch.

Live status loads in your browser.

During summer, Council lists Half Moon Bay as dog-free from 10am to 7:30pm, and as on leash from 7:30pm until sunrise. The indexed page does not say what applies from sunrise to 10am, so this tool says check with council in that gap.

Summer times are taken from Bayside’s beach chooser page. A direct download of that page returned HTTP 403 on 27 October 2026, so the wording is from the council URL as indexed that day. From 1 April to 31 October, the 1 April 2026 notice says access changes and points to the walking map, without clock times. The 20 August 2025 statement publishes current winter times only for the named stretches of Ricketts Point, and records that Council is making no changes to those rules. A line in that statement about “consistency with other Bayside beaches” does not name those other beaches, so it is not applied here. Outside summer, beaches without a published winter clock still say check with council.

1 November to 31 March
7:30pm–sunrise: on a leash. 10:00am–7:30pm: no dogs. Outside those times: not stated — check with council.
1 April to 31 October — clock times not published in text
All day: not stated — check with council.
Council’s words

Half Moon Bay, Black Rock (10am to 7.30pm) dog-free. On leash after 7.30pm to sunrise.

Source: Bayside City Council page, checked 27 October 2026.

Also on the council page

  • Summer times are taken from Bayside’s beach chooser page. A direct download of that page returned HTTP 403 on 27 October 2026, so the wording is from the council URL as indexed that day. From 1 April to 31 October, the 1 April 2026 notice says access changes and points to the walking map, without clock times. The 20 August 2025 statement publishes current winter times only for the named stretches of Ricketts Point, and records that Council is making no changes to those rules. A line in that statement about “consistency with other Bayside beaches” does not name those other beaches, so it is not applied here. Outside summer, beaches without a published winter clock still say check with council.

The map pin is a guide at -37.9642, 145.0128. It is not the boundary between groynes, access tracks or signed zones.

Dog-friendly or dog-free — which beach is right for you? — Bayside City Council

Other Bayside beaches

All Bayside beaches